The 2010-11 St. Louis Jr. Blues, Captains

Sep 12, 2010

The Jr. Blues are proud to introduce the 2010-11 team and captains.

The team captain will be #28 Erik Boning.  Boning is one of 6 returning players from last years team and a graduate of Vianney High School.  His gritty, relentless play last year, made him an obvious choice for one of the three captains this year.  Just before regular season play, Head Coach J.P. Beilsten named Boning the Captain.

#27 Barclay Eastman will serve as one of the Alternate Captains.  As a third year member of the team, Bo knows what it takes to win at this level.  His dedication to hockey and conditioning over the summer set an outstanding example for the rest of the team.

#22 Jamie DeMarco was named the other Alternate Captain for the upcoming season.  Demo is a fast, skilled player who learned what it takes to be an everyday player.  His willingness and ability to play anywhere last year was a huge benefit to the team. 

The rest of the team:

#1 Mitch Fernsler – Previously played for the Chesterfield Midget Major CSDHL team, where he won a Tier II Midget National Championship in goal.

#4 Will Quillman – Previously played for the St. Louis Amateur Blues Midget Minor AAA team.  Has the ability to move the puck with an offensive flare.

#6 Marek Tonhauser – Slovakian import from Zupkov.  Strong skater with a strong stick.  Marek always skates at 110% and never quits.  He played for HKM Zvolen last season.

#7 Daniel Kaufman – Another returner from last years National Championship team.  He is a quick skater and will be counted on to fill the goal scoring gap left by the promotion of other players from last years team.

#9 Bryan Schultz – Injury kept Bryan out of hockey last year.  His gritty, hard-nosed style will be a benefit to the team this year.  He also has an offensive upside as he notched 55 points for the St. Louis Selects the year before.

#10 Anthony Bonner – Bonner comes to the Jr. Blues from Francis Howell Central High School in St. Charles county.  Bonner is a strong skater that can be an everyday player as he adjusts to the speed of the junior hockey level.

#12 Zachary O'Bryan – A graduate of Lindbergh High School.  Zach didn't make the team out of the main camp, but his hardwork and determined play, made it impossible not to add him after a couple weeks of practice.

#13 Brandon Carlson – Carlson is an addition from the Minnesota Junior Hockey League and a native of Fairbanks, Alaska.  He is big and steady and will be looked to help stablize a blue line that lost all but one player from last years team.

#15 Chris Hill – Chris is a player that wasn't on the radar at the beginning of the Main Camp.  His steady play throughout the weekend assured him a spot on the team.  A member of the Affton Americans Midget Minor CSDHL team last year, Chris is expected to also help stablize that blue line.

#17 Robert Hintz – Robbie is a big player, and a strong skater that will be counted to help dig pucks out of corners and put them in the net.  He played for the Twin Bridges Midget Major team last season.

#18 Adam Otten – Otten notched 63 points for the Chesterfield Midget Major CSDHL National Champions last season.  His long reach and goal scoring ability will be counted on heavily this season.

#19 Kyle Everett – Kyle returns for another year with the Jr. Blues.  Last year, his play late was a catalyst for the Jr. Blues nationals run.  He will be expected to add even more offense this year and be a leader in the locker room.

#20 Matthew Townsend – Another of the group from the Tier II Midget National Champion Chesterfield team, Townsend is expected to add offensive punch to the line-up.  Last season he notched 50 points in 50 games for the Falcons.

#21 Cooper Mitchell– Cooper is a shifty player with explosive goal scoring ability.  His quick release and shot will keep goaltenders on their toes this season.  He will be relied on to help pick up the goal scoring void from last years team.

#23 Ryan Hogland – Ryan is a gritty, hard-working player from DeSmet High School and the St. Louis Amateur Blues AAA teams.  His ability in the faceoff circle will help the team gain control of the puck and will certainly chip in offensively through his work effort.

#25 Nathan Kohlenhoefer – Nathan is a second year player with the Jr. Blues.  His gritty play last year earned him ice time, but he has shown the ability to put the puck in the net in early work outs this year.  It is that area that the Jr. Blues will rely on Nate this season.

#26 Andy Thurby – Andy is new to the team this season.  The staff believes he can be a productive member of the team once he acclimates to the Junior style game.  He won a Tier II Midget National Championship with the Chesterfield Midget Major CSDHL team last season.

#33 Justin Davis – Last year Justin played for the U16 St. Louis Amateur Blues compiling a .920 Sv% and a 1.98 GAA.  He will be counted on to split the goaltending duties for the upcoming season.

#44 Andrew Helbig – Helbig played for the St. Louis Selects Midget AAA team in 2009-10.  He is one of the many, new, young defensemen that joined the team this year. 

#55 Joe Bowler – Bowler is the last returner from last years team and its sole defenseman.  He will be charged with leading the new defensive corps and will log plenty of ice time in key situations this year.