Regular Season Champs Recap!

Mar 8, 2010

The St. Louis Jr. Blues started the season strong with 26 straight wins and ran away with the regular season title.  They finished 11 points ahead of their closest competition with a record of 44-4-0-0.   The Jr. Blues led the league in goals (293), fewest goals against (82),  power play percentage (31.74), penalty kill percentage (89.15), longest winning streak (26),  shooting percentage (15.3), save percentage (.935), shots (1914), and road wins (22).   Individual accomplishments included Nick Saracino leading the league in points (100), Chris Hutton 3rd (91), Ryan McGrath and Tim Tankeev tied for 7th (72), with Patrick Gregory (59) and Jay Roux (55) in the top 25 in scoring.  In goal, Josh Hillegas led the league in GAA (1.68), Save % (.936), Wins (25), Shutouts (7) as Denis Chaltsev was second in the league in GAA (1.78), Save% (.932),  and was third in the CSHL in shutouts (4).  

The Jr. Blues have now won 8 out of the last 9 CSHL Championships as they prepare for their 8th trip to the Nationals in the past 11 years.  Their previous trips to the Nationals has netted four National Championships and one Runner Up as they boast a 24-6-1 record at Nationals. Their 293 goals set a team record in the regular season.