Jr. Blues Win Hurster Cup, Now Off To Boston

Mar 21, 2010

The top two teams in the CSHL met for the chance to claim the title of Hurster Cup champions.  The Dubuque Thunderbirds took an early lead, just :52 seconds into the period when Michael Fazio found Ryan Bachman breaking to the net.  Bachman made no mistake, burying the pass on a one-time shot.

Early in the second period, St. Louis would quickly tie the game.  Sean Gammage would throw the puck to the net and Tony Giacin got the re-direct goal, scoring his first CSHL goal.

The tie would be short-lived as David Russ scored on the powerplay to give Dubuque the one goal lead for the second time in the game.  He fired a shot past St. Louis goaltender Josh Hillegas, who was screened on the shot.

Just two minutes later, Chris Hutton would win an offensive zone face-off cleanly to Nick Saracino who beat Dubuque\’s goaltender Bradley Makowski over the glove to tie the game.

Early in the third period, Erik Boning would poke home the game winner during a scramble in front of the net, giving St. Louis a lead they would not give up.  After a lengthy delay for an issue with the glass, Kyle Everett buried an insurance goal as a powerplay expired.

Both teams head to Boston for the Tier III Jr. A Nationals next weekend.