Head Coach Jack Behan Steps Down

Jun 10, 2010

The St. Louis Jr. Blues have announced that Head Coach Jack Behan has stepped down after his 12th season at the helm of the Jr. Blues.  Behan leaves with an impressive 514-98-33-8 overall record that includes a 28-7-1 record at the USA Hockey Nationals in eight appearances.  The Jr. Blues won 5 National Championships in those 8 appearances and also had one Championship Runner-up.  The Jr. Blues 2004 National Championship was the first ever National Championship for a St. Louis based team at any level.   The Jr. Blues 2010 National Championship was the first Tier III Jr. A Championship won by a team outside the EJHL.  During Behan\’s 12 years the Jr. Blues also won 8 CSHL League Championships and 6 CSHL Hurster Cup Championships.  Behan\’s impressive record of moving players includes over 120 advancements and numerous levels.  (UHL, OHL, QMJHL, USHL, NAHL, CJHL, EJHL, CJHL, NCAA DIVISION I, NCAA DIVISION III, and ACHL)   Jr. Blues alumni include 3 NHL players, 4 AHL players to go with 23 NCAA DIVISION I players. 

Behan comments on his departure: \”It has been quite a ride these twelve years.  I need to thank many along the way who made this all possible.  Most importantly Mr. Jim Jost Sr. for his incredible support and Jim Jost Jr. who was tremendous to work with for all these years.  Frank Steckler who has volunteered his time for over 15 after his son Craig played for the Jr. Blues.   Doc Runco who just completed his 19th season will also be stepping down.  Doc is a great friend, coach and outstanding coach who brings out the best in all of us.  I have been blessed with what I consider the best coaching staff in Junior Hockey throughout my years.  Many thanks to all my assistants, Rob Scherer, Mike Hazelton, Tom Jost, Chirs Flaugher, Nathan Hucker, Tom Winkler, Mark Staub and J.P. Beilsten.  I would be remiss if I didn\’t acknowledge our Athletic Trainer Mike Heffner and his predecessors George McNichols and John Carron.  Mostly, I would like to remind my players past and present that it has been an honor to coach each of you who wore the Blue Note with pride.  It has been a great experience and to my players, you were simply the best!\”

J.P. Beilsten Named Head Coach:

J. P. Beilsten played two seasons with the Jr. Blues from 2000-2002.  His second year he was one of the top CSHL forwards with 80 points.  J. P. turned pro right after his time with the Jr. Blues playing 4 seasons in the UHL and CHL.  J.P. is also a world-class inline player and has represented the United States for over 10 years in the World Championships.  Last year he led the Team USA in scoring.  J.P. has coached locally in St. Louis at the Central States Development level and High School levels.  J.P. joined the Jr. Blues coaching staff last season helping the Jr. Blues to a National Championship.  Jim Jost Jr. remarks: \”J.P. did a terrific job last year and quite frankly is why Jack felt comfortable in being able to step down at this time.  We know the Jr. Blues are in good hands.\”

Coaching Staff Named:

New to the staff will be Ken Daleo who played for the Jr. Blues during the 1998-2000 seasons.  Ken then played NCAA Division III at Suny Brockport graduating in 2003.  Ken has been coaching locally at the Central States Development and High School levels.  Former assistant coach Mike Hazelton will be back after a one year absence to coach a local High School team.  Mike had coached the previous 8 years with the Jr. Blues. Mike was a former captain of the Jr. Blues during their 1987-88 CSHL and Hurster Cup Championship.  Rounding out the staff will be returning goaltender coach Mark Staub who played for the Jr. Blues in the 1983-84 seasons and played NCAA Division III at St. Mary\’s. 

Nathan Hucker who has been an assistant coach for the past 3 years has decided to take some time off as he and his wife Cassie are expecting their first child this fall.  Doc Runco will be stepping down and Jack Behan will continue to be assistant General Manager to help with the transition this season.  The Jr. Blues wish to thank Jack, Doc and Nathan for all their efforts and contributions.